How to select the tools you use in your business?

Wojciech Kałużny
2 min readJan 27, 2020

--

I’m a huge advocate for remote workflow. After a couple of years, I can’t imagine going back to a loud, messy open-space office. Not to mention the traffic, reheated food and other marvelous perks of offices.

Staying productive, and handling all sorts of projects from internal ones to clients work proved to be a challenge. I’ve decided to share the recipes that help me handle my daily workflows, midterm, and yearly goals as well as destructing large internal projects into manageable chunks.

How to select the tools you use in your business?

Selecting the right tools and software for running your business can be a real hustle (I’ve spend 3 weeks on selecting the right bank alone…). There’s a lot of aspects to consider when investing in software. Based on my experience I can outline a couple of them.

Easy to learn and collaborate

if you need to collaborate with clients, share multiple files, give information and so on it’s crucial to choose widely known and supported solutions, or at least ones that have a minimal learning curve.

Working in B2B space I understand that entrepreneurs are busy, I don’t expect anyone to spend too much time learning how to use a program to work with their contractor.

Accessibility everywhere

It’s 2020 and you need to be available to control most of your business from anywhere. I strongly encourage using cloud-based tools. If my laptop suddenly dies or get stolen, my downtime would be to run to the store and get a replacement. There’s nothing important stored locally.

Choose tools that will work on your smartphone as well as on desktop (just in case!)

Avoid large and ugly monsters

Do you really need CRM, CMS, emailing and chat all combined together? I tend to avoid overgrown products. Avoid being changed to one huge solution, instead use interchangeable products. Then, when your needs change so can your workflow, migrating large CRM solutions, and getting everyone onboard comes with a great cost of time and money. Switching small aspects of your workflow does not.

If you want to learn which tools I use everyday, check out my article on my personal blog

--

--

Wojciech Kałużny

Remote-first software house owner & fullstack developer working remotely since 2014 👨‍💻